top of page
Edie with her award.

The award reads: Edie Shaw-Ewald is awarded a Member Recognition Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to Dietitians of Canada and the profession of dietetics.


Photo credit: Michael Ewald

Congratulations to Atlantic Dietitians!


DC’s Member Recognition Awards are awarded on a yearly basis.  Nominations for the awards are submitted by peers, recognizes members’ volunteerism, expertise and achievements that contribute to the advancement of the profession. The 4 areas of recognition that members can be nominated for include Leadership, Innovation, Education and Association Catalyst. (Source:  Dietitians of Canada).

Awarded in the Leadership Category: Edie Shaw-Ewald

Edie Shaw-Ewald’s leadership helped to create the Dietitians Network of Nova Scotia in 2012, with the goal of promoting and increasing awareness and recognition of the dietetic profession within the province. The network involves dietetic professionals at all stages of their career contributing to an online and media presence, newsletter and other resources for dietitians and the public. Edie continues to advocate for networking and sharing between the local network and the DC Atlantic network and recently helped organize the DC Atlantic Professional Development event. Her efforts have helped increase the public’s understanding of the unique role dietetic professionals play in the community.  (Source:  Dietitians of Canada,


Awarded in the Association Catalyst category: Deidre Burns

(Association catalyst is for DC members who contribute to the priorities of the organization.)


Throughout her career, Deidre has been involved in various activities that raise the profile of dietitians and the advance of the dietetics profession. Deidre has been the chair of the DC Dysphagia Assessment and Treatment Network for the past 4 years and is an active member of a newly formed DC Local Action Group in Nova Scotia, the Nova Scotia Continuing Care Action Group. More recently Deidre has used her passion and determination to call together a group of dietitians from across Nova Scotia to begin discussions about how to support families who are discharged home on enteral nutrition without financial support. Deidre has also been on the planning committee for the DC National Conference. (Source:  Dietitians of Canada,

Awarded in the Leadership category: Anne Marie Armstrong

(Leadership is for DC members who contribute to the advancement of the profession in four different areas - Leadership, Innovation, Education and Association Catalyst.)


Anne Marie has helped pioneer dietitian’s roles in the retail market as Regional Manager for the Loblaw Atlantic Dietitian team. Her vision has helped shape an environment of learning, respect, critical thinking and knowledge sharing between colleagues and with the general public. Anne Marie has helped grow the program by advocating for dietitians as nutrition experts. She recently has taken the lead on the Social Media team to examine best practices for successful integration and engagement in social media. Anne Marie’s initiatives promote heightened respect for the profession and help expand dietitian’s roles within the community. (Source:  Dietitians of Canada,

Awarded in the Innovation category: Brenda MacDonald

(Innovation is for DC members who contribute to the advancement of the profession through Innovation.)


Brenda’s colleagues describe her as a visionary and a leader. Successful strategic thinking translated into improvements to better serve patients, families and staff at Nova Scotia’s IWK Health Centre. Her innovative planning and programming includes “Dial for Dining”, offering fresh meals 24/7 (a first for a hospital in Canada), implementing a NICU Breastmilk Preparation Room and replacing pop and juice in retail services with fruit infused water. Fellow dietitians in Nova Scotia are very excited about Brenda’s new role as the Senior Director of Food and Nutrition Services and know that she will bring her demonstrated passion, success and innovation to this role. (Source: Dietitians of Canada,

Awarded in the Leadership category: Jane Pryor

(Leadership is for DC members who contribute to the advancement of the profession in four different areas - Leadership, Innovation, Education and Association Catalyst.)


Jane has demonstrated strong leadership qualities in her professional career and in her endeavours with nutrition, foodservice and dietetic organizations, within Nova Scotia and nationally. As Director at The Capital District Health Authority she coordinated development of a Healthy Eating Policy and Strategy. Jane then initiated a bold citizen engagement process resulting in a Healthy Foods Only policy in retail and restaurant services. This was a first for Nova Scotia, and Canada, at the time. Jane is recognized for her strong commitment to promoting dietitians as the nutrition experts and her advocacy for healthy eating and policy change. (Source:  Dietitians of Canada,


bottom of page